iWork for iCloud hands-on

iWork-for-iCloud

I use my iPhone & iPad for content consumption as well as production. Regarding content production, I write blog (such as this one) and develop demos (at demo.cheungwaikin.com) at lot on my iDevices. That said, most of my job-related content productions are PowerPoint presentation, Word document and Excel spreadsheet. Yes, similar to most white-collar people.

I love using iDevices to present in meeting. I bought Keynote for iOS two years ago because it supported PowerPoint. Sometime I modify presentation on the road. Very convenient. That said, Keynote is never my main presentation development tool. It is god damn harsh (as Al Pacino sad in Scent of a Woman) to produce a presentation from scratch on iDevices. The on-screen keyboard is too small to type a lot!

Not until now.

iWork-for-iCloud-Keynote

I tried the new iWork for iCloud last weekend. All my presentations in Keynote for iOS are under theKeynote atbeta.icloud.com. I tried to create a new presentation. The beta was very responsive. It was much easier to type and group objects! However Keynote features were very limited. Neither table, chart, video nor animation is supported.

Well, no problem. I had iOS Keynote on my iPhone!

keynote-insert-gui

Here is my first multimedia presentation produced 100% by Keynote:
http://wpc.6af4.edgecastcdn.net/006AF4/download/edgecast-introduction.key

keynote-with-video

keynote-with-table

If you don’t have Keynote, you can view it on Safari with some distortions. The current iWork for iCloud beta does not support video and printing, but its iOS counterpart does.

keynote-open-in-another-app

Here is the PDF printout of my presentation:
http://wpc.6af4.edgecastcdn.net/006AF4/download/edgecast-introduction.key

2 Comments on “iWork for iCloud hands-on”

  1. I think this is among the such a lot important info for me.
    And i am glad studying your article. But should commentary on
    some general issues, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really great :
    D. Good task, cheers


Leave a Reply

