Apple Watch review: it is much better to tap on the wrist than the upper arm

Yesterday was 24-Apr-2015, the Apple Watch was officially on sales and shipped to customers. There are many blogposts about the gadget, some great ones such as the Apple Watch Sport Unboxing by 9To5Mac and 28 Apple Watch Tips and Tricks by iMore respectively.

Today is 25-Apr-2015, my pre-ordered Apple Watch 38mm Space Grey Aluminium Black Sport is delivered to me at 10:01am! Much earlier than I expect. The ETA shown on Apple Store is 24-Apr to 8-May. Under-promise, over-achieve. Thanks Apple!

As a (causal) blogger, here is my blogpost about Apple Watch too. I don’t reinvent the wheel to talk about unboxing and how to set up, etc. I will write my first running exercise wearing Apple Watch. My main use case of Apple Watch is fitness device.

Apple Watch measuring Heart Rate

It was 5:30pm, I put Plantronics BackBeat Go 2 on my ears, iPhone 6 plus in the armband on my right upper arm and Apple Watch Sport on my wrist. My aim was to test the smartwatch and I decided to go for a light exercise. I ran 4 km and 29min.

First thing first: it is much more easy and pleasant to control a gadget by tapping on wrist than the upper arm!

It is dangerous looking at the upper-arm when running. I won’t do it anymore.

I started a run session in RunKeeper on my Apple Watch. I did the same in Workout. I was listening to podcast while running. I used the Music app “Now Playing” to pause and resume the podcast a few times. RunKeeper/Workout on Apple Watch showed how long and how far I ran. I swiped up the watch face and glanced Heart Rate about each 100m to check my beat rate. I wanted my heart rate to reach 180 for a few minutes. It was very easy and motivating (to run faster). I stopped when I ran 4km. I found a place to do a 5-minute stretching. I set up a 5-minute timer on Apple Watch with just a few clicks. I received a Line message and I replied it using a emoji. I did all these by interacting with the Apple Watch only. I didn’t touch my iPhone!

Apple Watch screen captures

I checked the RunKeeper and Activity app on iPhone after dinner. Activity showed my average heart rate during the workout period. Health app recorded my heart rate since 11am. It showed heart rate range in each hour. Very cool!

RunKeeper vs Activity

My Apple Watch day one was very interesting. It did what I wanted it to (measure heart rate during exercise). It can do much more! It is fun to use and to learn how to use Apple Watch:D

Notes:
1.I am pleased to find the Apple Watch Sport comes with the new Apple 5W USB Power Adapter (Folding Pins)! It is much more portable than the old one! A small adaptor and a big nice surprise to customers! Every little thing counts!

Apple 5W USB Power Adapter (Folding Pins)

2.I made phone calls using the Apple Watch. It is amazing!

3.I listened to Techpinions podcast – Q1 2015 Tech Earnings, TV Services, Mobile Web. It talked about Cloud Computing, OTT, CDN and mobile web optimisation. A great podcast!

4.We can do screen capture on Apple Watch by quickly pressing the Digital Crown and Side button at the same. The picture is stored on iPhone.

Leave a Reply

