iPhone is a content production device

Sometimes I need to prepare multimedia content for demonstration. Not every occasion I have enough time to prepare the demo, especially when I don’t have my notebook computer with me.

Well, I do have a computer with me almost all the times – my iPhone! A lot of bloggers and podcasters share their experience of using iDevices for content production. Besides emails, tweets and photos, I think it is time for me to produce something new solely on my iPhone – my first blog about app recommendation for video streaming.

First of all I need some video contents besides the videos captured by my iPhone. Video Download is a free and easy to use app which can save files to Camera Roll.

20121017-230156.jpg

Then I use Photos to trim a 4min 20sec video into 1min 20sec, the result .mov file is 4.23MB in size. I would like to demonstrate CDN video streaming by Progressive Download, WMS and HLS. The first one is simple, I upload the trimmed video form Camera Roll to CDN origin storage via FTP using iTransfer.

20121017-230547.jpg

Here is the progressive download link:
Progressive Download

WMS and HLS need more effort. I use Safari to access my Encoding.com account and transcode the .mov file to wmv and HLS.

20121017-231515.jpg

The .wmv file is 9.3MB. I upload it to CDN again. iPhone needs third party app to view video streamed by Microsoft Media Server (MMS) protocol. I use yxplayer:

20121018-012238.jpg

Here is the WMS link, copy the URL and add it as a new stream in yxplayer:
Windows Media Streaming

Encoding.com compresses the HLS files into a 14.44MB Tar archive and sends to my FTP account. I download the Tar file to my iPhone using iTransfer and then uncompress it into 40 files (.m3u8 and .ts) using Unarchiver.

20121017-230805.jpg

There is no simple way in Unarchiver to upload these 40 files to CDN, I have to click each file and select to open it by iTransfer! The file extension will be truncated to no more than three letters when opened by iTransfer, so I need to rename those five .m3u files to .m3u8. All done, here is the HLS link:
HTTP Live Streaming

Switching over different apps, taking screen captures and finally I compete this article using WordPress app. With apps and cloud services, iPhone becomes a content production device.

This is my first blog written on iPhone.

Leave a Reply

